Last Night I Said No to Money

Last night I said no to money,

Not because I have too much of it.

Not because I have so many prospects of it.

But because taking it would make me feel powerless,

I said no to money.

 

Yesterday, I said no to money.

It was a few hours before I would need more of it

And a few hours after I had spent too much of what I had.

Yet still, I said no.

The feeling in my heart was liberating

yet the emptiness of my pockets was nauseating.

Should I have thought with my heart or with my pockets.

I don’t know,

What I know is, I said no to money.

 

Hours ago, right after the sun took shelter,

I said no to money.

Not because I knew I was going to get it elsewhere

but because I feared I hadn’t earned it.

Not because I didn’t need it

but because somebody felt I didn’t deserve it.

So, I said no to money.

 

As the night took off its clothes, I said no to money

And I knew I was going to regret it.

I said no but ask me if it was the right thing to do

And I might say Hell no,

But I will most likely say I don’t know

Because it was the right statement to make,

I said no to money.

One thought on “Last Night I Said No to Money

Leave a comment